Week 78

Hola familia, y amigos!

Well it’s been one fun week. And I just have one more to go. Just one more!

Random thing of the week– We were at an apartment complex when a teenager came up to us and tried to sell us stuff. He had a cool little spiel and everything. He had a duffel bag that he opened up, showed us all the things we could buy. Neither of us had money, so we said it was nice but sorry, we couldn’t. H Covington checked, and did have money so she bought a coloring book. It was so useful! We used it during piano lessons, during conference, during a lesson at Matilde’s for Lorena, and Anthony. It was great!

 
On Sunday, someone on the bus asked me if I had some Mexican in me! It was awesome!

This week was amazing, just for the fact that it was General Conference! I loved Elder Hollands talk! It was so good, he always has something amazing to say, and it is always powerful! And President Uchtdorf was super amazing. When we are unhappy even when we are doing everything right in our lives, the thing we need to most is be grateful, count our blessings!

One of the coolest things was that our mission president, President Becerra is now a 70! He’s a general authority! He went out to Utah and got set apart on Saturday. Wow! We were sitting with a bunch of missionaries, we all exclaimed something like, “Was that President?!” “President’s a general authority!” We all knew he was going to be eventually, so it was pretty cool. Nobody thought it would be this soon however. 

 
Other cool story, we got a new investigator yesterday. Her name is Juana, and I met her my first full day in Covina! We met her looking for someone else, we prayed with her. Well we have to go through our area book in order to put it in the iPad, and knowing that I will be leaving, I know I have to get everyone I know in there. There’s someone I know on that street that wasn’t written down, so we went to at street to get the address. I decided to go by Juana just to say hi. The last time she wasn’t there at our set appointment and she gave us a number that didn’t work, so we figured she didn’t really want us back. We got there, and she remembered me! It was 6 months ago  she immediately said, “why didn’t you call me?” Apparently she tried to give us to her right number, it got lost in translation. So we taught her and it was awesome. She’s great, she nodded the whole time we asked her to be baptized. So hopefully she will come along well. Interestingly enough she already studies with the Jehovah’s witnesses. 
 
Pues, looks like this will probably be my last letter. I want everyone to know that I know that Jesus is the Christ. I know that God calls prophets, He has in the past, He does now. I know that God called Joseph Smith to be a prophet and to restore the church of God. I know that the church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is the true church of God upon the earth. I know that the words of the prophets, apostles come from God and are inspired for us in our day. I know that God has a plan for each one of us, that He loves us, wants the best for us. I know that if we live the commandments we really will be blessed. I know that if we are baptized in His church and we live the commandments and endure to the end, we can have eternal life, the greatest gift we can possibly receive from God. I know these things because I have prayed about them. I know because I have lived the teachings, and I have seen the blessings that have come from them, and I know without a doubt that this is from God. There is no way that God is not involved in this work. He always is looking to help His children come unto Him and that is exactly what we do as  His missionaries, we invite His precious children to come unto Christ and to partake of the blessings of the atonement of Jesus Christ, and to prepare for exaltation. 
 
I have been so blessed to be apart of this work for the last 18 months (and a few extra days). I have had some of the best days of my life here serving the Lord. I hope to continue serving the Lord and doing what He asks of me in my life. I invite all of you to more fully serve the Lord in your lives. Go help the missionaries find those people! I want to reiterate the challenge of Elder Ballard for everyone to read Preach my Gospel daily along with your regular scriptures, and to invite one person every 3 months to listen to the missionaries. If you do, you will see more of God’s blessings, more happiness in your life and have more love for those around you. This has been one of the best times of my life and you can have some of that as well when you help the missionaries!
 
Love,
Hermana Laura Johnson
Image
Leave a Reply

