Week 55

Hello everyone!
 
This week has been super great as always!
 
We met with our investigator Hilda. We started reading from Alma 32 together. We read verse 26, she loved it so much! H Davis was reading it out loud, Hilda couldn’t keep it in herself, she read the end of the verse out loud as well, “it beginneth to enlarge my soul; yea, it beginneth to enlighten my understanding, yea, it beginneth to be delicious to me.” She said that that was exactly how she felt, it was delicious to her, she just loves the Book of Mormon. We asked if she thought the Book of Mormon is true. She said yes, she knows it’s true! It was an amazing lesson, she really gets it! We just hope her husband can soon. We had given her the For the Strength of Youth pamphlet last week, she read it all the night before we came. Apparently she read it all out loud even with her kids telling her to be quiet haha. She couldn’t put it down! She loved it so much. They both came to church, they stayed for Sunday school for the first time. It was on chastity, an awkward topic, but they loved it, want it for their kids!
 
We saw another investigator Bertha. We taught the restoration, it was really spiritual. We really helped her feel the spirit, recognize it. She had already been introduced to the Book of Mormon by her boyfriend, they have been reading it, praying together. That makes our job really easy, she already likes it, we just give a little more information, help her understand it more. We had a second lesson on Saturday. It was amazing. The spirit was so strong in that lesson. We taught the restoration again, watched the movie. I testified about the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon, the gospel. I didn’t say anything unusual, just very basic but it was so sincere, one of the most sincere testimonies I’ve given on my mission, and I know she felt it. She definitely did. I’m so excited to see her progress.
 
We watched the Joseph Smith movie for an FHE. It was amazing, it was the 60 minute one. I really have a strong testimony of Joseph Smith. I’ve studied him a lot recently, he went through so much, all so we can have the fullness of the gospel! It is amazing!
 
We started teaching a new couple. We taught the wife on Wednesday, set up an appointment for Friday. The best part was on Friday. We had taught the wife Rosario how to pray on Wednesday, on Friday we asked if the husband Angel would do it after we taught him. We taught him, he said he felt weird, didn’t want to. Rosario didn’t take no for an answer, she told him to repeat what she said, he did. So he prayed like a little child being told what to say by their parents! I’ve never seen that except for with children. It taught me a lot. Prayers are really hard, they need to be done from the heart, but if you can’t do that, you just have to do them, pray for help to pray. I feel like I am constantly learning about prayer from these people, it is great!
 
We had our mission tour on Saturday. Elder Sitati from one of the 70’s came. He’s a convert from Kenya, had some really cool stories. He really helped us to remember our purpose as missionaries. I really want to understand our purpose better, help others understand it as well. It truly is only through baptism in the restored gospel of Jesus Christ that everyone can get a remission of their sins, receive salvation. It is so important that we teach it!
 
Also funny story. I watched a video on bike safety this week. It’s really recent, it has Matt Meese from Divine Comedy in it! It was so funny to see him, I paused the video since I was so confused, surprised. He steals an Elder’s bike, his friend steals another, they ride off on them. It made me laugh.
 
One quick funny thing. A couple weeks ago H Davis said something like this, was super hilarious on accident. “Did Juan call? I mean Elder Bautista… uhh. Actually that was really funny. Because Juan el Bautista (John the Baptist)… I called Elder Bautista Juan…. hahahaha” I don’t know maybe that’s not funny for you all, but it was. Promise.
 
Have a good Halloween! It’ll be interesting over here for sure, I have no idea what we’re doing since we can’t really be out! 
 
Love,
Hermana Laura JohnsonImage
Leave a Reply

