Week 16 The 4 month mark

Hola!
 
So yesterday I hit my 4 month mark. So I’ve actually been in CA the same time as the MTC at this point. Woohoo!
 
Anyways, what’s up? This week has been good for us!
 
Funniest part of the week– (And this is indeed the intro I used with our less Active Oswaldo) “Speaking of worms (we were just barely talking about them), guess what H. Jardon ate today?!?” On Saturday H. Jardon ate a worm!!!!! It was disgusting and so random. We were at the park with the other Elders playing soccer with investigators. We stopped to sit down and one of the little girls pulled out a worm. The Elders jokingly said $50 if she would do it. They were 100% sure she wouldn’t, except that the bribe was high enough that she actually did. Then they asked if she chewed it, which she didn’t, she just swallowed it, so they tried to negate the bribe!! Those Elders!
 
This week we had a lot of dinners… Too many of them and they always came back to back! So this honestly has been the first week I haven’t been able to finish meals. When it’s sit down I clean my plate (unless it’s a party where nobody watches/cares). For like 5 straight meals I haven’t been able to!! And the members notice and tell me that I don’t have to finish the food which is totally sad. That’s so unnormal for Hispanic culture.
 
Also, funny food story from the week. On Saturday we visited Christian and Paola right when they were having dinner. They invited us to come and enjoy the food, so we did. We had meat, salsa, tortillas, and coke (eww). When Maritza, their friend, cut up the chilis to put in the salsa she was crying it was so picante, just from cutting them. So me, I just ate the salsa on the tortillas. I just had a couple bites and it was fine. On the third bite I felt it, it was super spicy! In fact, I started crying it was so spicy. They then taught me how to deal with it, I got a pinch of salt and swallowed that, and lots of water. I always thought water made it worse, but apparently not? Or maybe just with the salt it doesn’t. But it was hilarious. It took a little bit to calm down, and I just laughed for a few minutes before I could stop. It was too funny. Apparently you’re supposed to eat it with the meat as well! Now I know.
 
Also our complex is a construction zone. New roofing, so that was fun to study to for like 10 minutes. The lights shook and went on and off and dust fell all over us. So we left for the church after that.
 
Much Love!
Hermana Laura Johnson
Leave a Reply

