Week 6

Hello everyone!

So I’ve been here six weeks now! I only have two and a half left! So excited to head out of here! It’s cold and I’ve been dreaming of the California sun for quite awhile.

First up, there are definite perks to Hermana Billings and Snow being BFFs with President Brown. Last Sunday we were walking around the administration building (sadly Hermana Connelly was at a meeting so we were a threesome). As we approached on of the halls, President Brown called their names (not mine because he barely knows me) and said he wanted to introduce them to someone. I immediately saw who, but they didn’t, they were looking at President Brown the whole time. There was a short man, who blended in with the other missionaries, Elder Bednar. President Brown told Elder Bednar to shake our hands. I introduced myself and shook his hand. Then when the other two shook his hand, they both realized who it was. Hermana Billings was visibly surprised and Elder Bednar even laughed. Later we thanked President Brown and he told us that he told Elder Bednar, “It doesn’t get better than those three.” And Elder Bednar responded, “I can feel it.” Isn’t that awesome!?!? I just was so excited, and we were so happy for the rest of the day.

Thank you surprise cookie sender! There wasn’t a name with it, but Hermana Kara Prestwich and I are very grateful! Please tell us who you are!

We committed Angel to baptism this week! He was sick for a week so it has taken us forever, but when we asked he was truly excited, and that made me happy. I wanted to make sure he didn’t just commit because we asked a zillion times, he truly wanted it for himself. He wants to be better, and he has seen the changes in his life that have come.

Living the gospel makes you change, and makes you better. I can already see how focusing on it night and day here has changed me. I’m sure you guys would be able to see more since it’s been awhile, I see a couple things that are for sure better. Definitely happier, more desire to have the spirit, closer to Christ… all that stuff.

Grigoisms
Oso conmigo=bear with me
Guardar en tocar=keep in touch (it would actually be mantener en contacto)

Our teachers have been gone on and off for the last week. Hermano Gunter was sick, and Hermano Christofferson had… frisbee golf tournaments? That meant we’ve had a lot of first lessons with other teachers. It’s been fun. It’s really when people make up first impressions of us. For a lot of people, especially me, first impressions are REALLY important! You decide whether you like the missionaries for themselves, and whether you want to hear more of their message. This week at our Devotional Elder Foster of the 70 came. He talked about how we specifically will be able to touch certain investigators, and we are here to do just that, convert those only we can. Heavenly Father has called more people to the work with the new age change so that more people will have the opportunity to go touch His children individually. This week I really feel that there is some family out there in Arcadia that I am meant to touch. A very specific family. One that will embrace the gospel with open arms and be excited to have an eternal family.

The oldest district in our zone left. We were all good friends so it’s actually pretty sad. We are now the oldest! So two of our Elders are the zone leaders now.

We hosted this week! It was so exciting! I hosted a girl from PA! She brought me news about how the hurricane affected PA. I haven’t actually heard much so I was very happy to hear that things were alright. I just loved hosting!!! I have this huge love for new missionaries. And we have a new district this week, with 3 hermanas!! We’re so happy around here!! I also have a feeling that I will be training for almost all of my mission…. With the new age change and my crazy love for new missionaries, I’ll definitely be put to good use.

Our classroom was FREEZING this week. We put up a blanket over the window since there was a draft. At night it made it so dark in our classroom, and we decided to put that to good use. The hermanas all hid in the classroom with our hoods up over our heads and stared at the door with the lights off. When people walked in and turned on the lights they were freaked out. We scared a teacher from our zone, Hermano Christofferson, and all the Elders in our district. It was hilarious! I think we got Elder Brueggeman the best, he was like, “what are you doing?!?!” And his eyes bugged out. The other teacher said that if we were a foot taller he would have been legitimately scared and not just freaked out.

One last thing. During class Wednesday one of the teachers in our zone, Hermano Wright (who served in DC) told us a joke. It was a pun, so we had to know what a couple words meant in order to get it. He wrote a word up on the board so we could look it up in the dictionary. Hermana Billings pulled out her book and looked through it. She put it down and said, “Jesus the Christ,” in a frustrated way. Hermano Wright immediately turned around with a shocked look on his face and said, “Hermana!?!? You’re a missionary!!!! You just took the Lord’s name in vain!!!” Hermana Billings turned bright red, and looked at her book on her desk, Jesus the Christ by James E. Talmage. I saw the whole thing and I started laughing so hard I cried, even more than usual though, I had to get a tissue to wipe my tears. We were supposed to teach Angel just then but I just couldn’t, it was pretty bad how much I was laughing and crying. Even still, at random moments I’ve thought of that and I get a huge grin on my face.

If anyone has news from the outside world please tell me! What has happened on facebook since I’ve been away?! What is the news at BYU and in VA and PA?

Anyways, I would love to hear from anyone and everyone! News is sparse around here!

Well I love you guys!! Have a good week!!
Hermana Laura Johnson

 

Leave a Reply

