Week Three

Hey there!

So the MTC is pretty exciting. Only kind of, actually I’m really ready to head out but I have six more weeks out. Three weeks in I feel like I’ve been here for at least a month and a half. I’ve probably said it before, but time is so weird.

Here’s the most exciting things this week.

On Sunday the fire alarm went off at 6:10 in the morning. It was quite exciting. All the girls in my building went outside in the cold in their pajamas. I think there were even a few that forgot coats. We were outside for about twenty minutes before they let us into a different building. I met lots of fun people on my floor. One of the girls going to Cambodia even tried to have hymns going and she was directing us. It was okay for the first hymn but after that everyone decided they would rather sleep. A police man came in and told us the problem was a dust mite that got into the fire alarm system and set it off. Even though it wasn’t a real fire, we had to wait for the electrician to come and reset the alarm. We got back into the building at 7 right when we were supposed to be in study time. So we took our time getting ready afterwards.

Sunday Ann M Dibb came to Relief Society. She’s in the young women’s presidency and is also President Monson’s daughter. We had a question and answer session with her about her dad. One of the stories I liked was how she found out her call to the yw presidency. Her dad asked her if she wanted to know the new presidency. She thought it was a secret her dad was telling her. He read her the official document and then got to her name. When he said it, she started crying and said she didn’t want to do it. But obviously she said yes and has been great.

It snowed this week! And I desperately hoped I wouldn’t see snow this winter. It’s going to be fun here with my summery CA clothes.

Wednesday is one of the best days of the week. Why? All the newbies come! They walk around with orange dots on their badges to signify their newness and they ask us questions because they definitely don’t know what’s going on. My zone has gym at 12:30 right when the new people are coming in. The first Wednesday gym we were in 18M which has a couple floors of work out stuff. We saw a couple of guys surrounding a window and we were confused why. They explained that from their view they can watch all the newbies saying goodbye to their parents. So I get on an eliptical by the window and watch, and we’ve done it for three weeks now. This week, my favorite was watching a grandma take pictures with her ipad. She didn’t look like she knew how to use it very well.

KARA BUNNY BETTY WHITE PRESTWICH. What time are you getting here next week? And what car will you come in? I will try to creep (watch) for you.

Four of our elders are now in Guatemala. It’s sad. But good, it means we are a little more focused now.

We’re learning the EFY medley in Spanish for Sunday. I’m sure it will be really good. I’m pretty excited for it.

This last week Hermana Billings asked Elder Johansen what something on his face was. The rest of us knew exactly what it was and we were embarrassed for the conversation. She asked if it was a scar, he said “sure we’ll call it that”. She was concerned, she thought someone had gouged his nose and wanted to know the truth. He said, “Oh…. Yep, yep… that’s acne.” After that we sat at the table for at least five more minutes dying with laughter.

Anna Johnson did you get my two letters? I’m not sure, you haven’t responded to anything. I might have the wrong address so let me know.

My teacher Brother Gunter gave a prayer and specifically blessed each one of us individually. It was cool. He said exactly what everyone needed.

Planchas de oro=gold plates
Plantas de oro=gold plants

Someone made that error in a lesson and our teacher laughed a lot.

pecado=sin
pescado=fish
I’m pretty sure I made that mistake, our teacher wouldn’t say who it was though.

My companion is obsessed with candy at the moment. In our lesson she asked our investigator if he eats candy a lot. I just looked at her and laughed I was like seriously? Candy?!?

I accidentally am a thief. The guy next to me kept saying he couldn’t find stuff. Then later when I looked through my desk I found one, and the next day another of the things he lost. Then other people couldn’t find stuff, they jokingly said I had their stuff, which I didn’t.

OH, family!! Thanks for the package! I was excited to get it, I wasn’t expecting it or anything.

Also just so people don’t think I’m a drama queen, I have gotten mail, and I am sorry if you thought I rebuked you (which I kind of was… because I was mad). But anyways… don’t worry about me! Although if anyone has pictures that would be cool, you can just attach them to an email or something.

The church is true and I’m glad I’m doing a good thing here and that I can teach!

Love,
Hermana Laura Johnson

Leave a Reply

