Week 2

Hello!

This week was pretty good. I got a calling! I’m the Music Coordinator for the zone. I get to pick the hymns for sacrament and approve musical numbers. Also I get to teach the new districts how to lead music. Speaking of which, we got a new district in our zone this week. We haven’t met them but from what I hear they’re nice. They are all elders unfortunately, so there is still only four sisters in our zone, all from my district.

I also picked up a viral infection! It was very interesting. I’ve been coughing all week, and even waking up in the middle of the night. I had to go to the doctor here and get some decongestant, and some medicine to suppress my coughing. I’m not sure how but my companion didn’t get it, or anyone else in my district and we are together for almost 16 hours a day. In the MTC they have an intercom that you can talk back to. Hermana Connelly and I were outside when she called on the intercom for me to get my prescription. Apparently she quite angrily said, “She has five minutes or she’s out!” I’m not really sure what that means, “she’s out!” but I did pick it up in time and she seemed nice in person.

Sadly not too many funny stories, but a lot of funny quotes.
“I committed him to a (baptismal) date.” -Elder Steenhoek
“You’re going on a date!!” -Hermana Billings

“Broma.” -Brother Gunter
“Bromance?” -Everyone
It means a funny story or something like that

We got feedback from the TRC (we talk in Spanish to members). In another group–For what the members we talk to feel they should do after hearing their message (it’s something like that I just can’t remember), “Pray for the missionaries.”

“What is get in Spanish?”
“Getto?” -Elder Crane

Casarse-to get married
Cazar-to hunt
(pretty much the same thing at BYU)
“I married that deer!!” -Elder Steenhoek

Learning about Me gusta (I like)
Deportes-sports
“Deportes sounds like deporting. I love the migra!!” -Elder Steenhoek

A good way to end a mission story (much like and then I found five dollars)– “And then he was baptized!”

One funny story. Elder Steenhoek dropped his cup at lunch and it broke. His face was hilarious, he looked around as if to wonder if anyone heard with this silly frightened face. We all definitely heard because it was glass shattering. Then Elder Bruggeman yelled “STEINHOOK” to the whole cafeteria.

“Why do you have to bust my biscuits man?!” -Elder Green

“Elder, have you noticed how amazing my sweater vest is?”

“What am I going to put in this notebook?  Notes?” – Sister Connelly

“I thought you wanted a low five and I went to hit your hand, but then you moved it and now I’m searching for your hand” – Sister Connelly to me

” Yes, I do have girly handwriting, and you were all thinking it” – Brother Tanner

“Are you at the point where your head is about to explode? Let it explode!” -Brother Gunter

We have issues with Spanish still, even for things we know.
In Elder Crane and Elder Bruggeman’s lesson, they were talking about siblings then Angel asked how old they were. Elder Crane didn’t catch the question and accidentally said he was four years old because he thought they were still talking about siblings.
Elder Steenhoek was reading straight from Preach My Gospel in a lesson. He asked whether they could call Rancho, “Hermana Rancho.” And Rancho replied that he preferred Hermano Rancho. That’s what you get when you just read straight and don’t pay attention.
Hahahaha both of these made me laugh so hard in class I was crying

So we had a fake investigator.  Hermana Connelly and I gave him a Book of Mormon to read.  It was the classroom copy so we needed it back, but we weren’t sure how to get it.  We told another group to get it and they did, but the investigator was suspicious.  “What if he says he didn’t read it because someone stole his Book of Mormon?!”

I don’t even remember what I said last week. But we had an investigator, Santiago. Well he’s our teacher now, but we knew that because the other group spoiled that (sorry to my friends about to serve spoiler!). His name is Brother Christofferson. Well, can you guess who his uncle is? Elder Christofferson! Yesterday we sat in class and he told us to ask any question we wanted about the gospel. He had an answer for everything, even all the deep doctrine things, right off the top of his head. It was crazy! He is so smart, and spiritual. He is encouraging that we all can be great missionaries. He says it’s all due to obedience and following the spirit, so we’re trying to do that. We can have the ability to call down all the blessings of heaven if we just have the faith and desire.

We have two new investigators Rancho and Angel. They’re both pretty good. Rancho’s big thing is that he doesn’t think God exists, otherwise there wouldn’t be so many bad things in the world. We’re not sure too much on Angel, but in our second lesson we read 2 NE 31 13, 20-21 and were about to ask about baptism but time was up. Although he asked when we could come back which was a good sign that he took to baptism. That’s the biggest thing, running out of time! We don’t have enough time to say all that we want to anymore.

OH! There’s some big news with the new age change. Apparently this means that as soon as February, I could be training a new 19 year old missionary. That would mean only two transfers out in the field for me!!! HOLY COW! They are shortening the time, starting January 1, down one third. So Spanish will now be 6 weeks and English 2 weeks and Cantonese will be 9 weeks. So we will have those young girls out in February.

Anyways I know the church is true and that God really loves us, and that he loves to bless us. He blesses us with families, and with friends and the prophets and apostles on this earth. They truly do they work of God and they receive direct revelation from Him. I know that Joseph Smith is a prophet, and that the Book of Mormon was translated through Joseph Smith by God’s hand. It is amazing to me that so many can look at the Book of Mormon and not realize this. I have a testimony of these things and I am so excited to share it with the Spanish speaking people in California!

Love,
Hermana Laura Johnson

Leave a Reply

