Week one in the MTC

Dear everyone,

The MTC is good. Spanish is going good. High school Spanish has pretty much come back from day one. That isn’t the same for everyone else though, a lot of others had taken it so I was just blessed I guess. We had to give a lesson in Spanish on the second day and I think my companion and I did okay. We had to do lessons almost daily for a few days but it got harder. There was so much new vocabulary for every lesson it got a little overwhelming.

My companion is from Tennessee, in fact I’m developing a slight accent. I think its funny I’m getting it from her and not because I “live in the South”. She is super sweet and really funny. She’s also quite a bit shorter than me. We have two other sisters in our district and our room. Hermanas Snow and Billings. They’re both from Utah. We all get along and spend a lot of time together. Hermana Connelly is also going to Arcadia with me but the others are not. There’s four or five others in our district (12 people in our class) going to Arcadia as well, and a whole district (8) in our zone is going to Arcadia. Apparently Arcadia is only 30×30 miles which is really tiny.

Just so everyone knows, if you send me a letter through Dear Elder it comes through on the same day and for now it’s free. That would be the best way to contact me. If you email I only get it on Preparation Day (P-day) and I have 30 minutes to read and respond to emails. SO I would rather use my time writing than reading. Also, I haven’t gotten a single thing from anyone, letters or packages, just two emails from my parents so…. If anyone is so inclined to write that would be nice.

Funny story 1: Hermana Connelly and I sat on a bench to eat sandwiches. I put the mayo on the top of the bread and put it together. Then I slightly moved my leg or something and the top fell off and mayo got all over my workout pants. Hermana Connelly got me a napkin and I tried to clean off the mayo. Instead the napkin started shredding and I had all these nasty white chunks on the front of my pants and it looked worse than before. I stood up to clean it off right when two guys from our district walked by. I just turned around with my back to them and tried to look inconspicuous. Pretty sure that didn’t work. After they left I cleaned up and the two of us laughed.

Funny story 2: I related the pants story to the two other Hermanas in our district that night. They laughed about it and as soon as I finished telling it, I leaned back on my bed and the front of my pajama pants ripped. Luckily it did not make a hole because it was serged together still but it was just too perfect timing wise. Then I exclaimed, “I’m just having crotch issues today!!!”
Coincidentally, the button on my jeans fell off today. There’s a dry cleaners here and I’m going to see if they can put in a new button or whether someone will have to send me new pants. I’ll let you know what I need.

Funny story 3: I wrote about this to people I had addresses for but anyways…. (Side note my alarm clock is ridiculous, we could not figure out how to set it for like 3 days). It’s a sphere and you can only see the time if you press a button on it. I wanted to check if it was set but after the lights were out. Since I couldn’t see it I felt for it. I ended up knocking it onto the floor and since it’s a sphere it rolled around under one of the beds. Then I turned on the lights and apologized while they laughed at me.

Funny quote: My teacher was talking about filler words and one other piped up, “I use feather words too.” We’re having problems understanding English now, so pretty much we can’t talk in any language.

Can you send me Sister Brett Hoffman’s mission home address? She wrote me and I brought that address but I don’t know if its the mission home or their apartment and I know she got transferred. Also could you send me her weekly updates from her blog? And same with Katie Cutler’s. That would be lovely.

Also Conference here in the MTC was cool. Especially the new announcement. There was an audible gasp from everyone. And a lot of guys started talking about their girlfriends who were waiting for them. So a lot of those girls are going, including one guy in my district’s girlfriend. We had Elder Bednar on Tuesday for a devotional. He told us that he thought it was really funny to hear all the rumors about why the announcement came. He told us it is all in the Lord’s timing why and when he needs to hasten the work and we may never know why it came just now. Anyone else I know going on a mission soon?

I saw Elder Bleyl on Saturday right before he flew out to Arizona on Monday. And Elder Dial last Wednesday before he went to Pennsylvania (woohoo!).

The church is true, much love,
Hermana Laura Johnson

PS- The food is ridiculous. I’m pretty sure I’ve never eaten so much in my life. But I’m trying to eat more salads so I will still be able still wear my clothes by the end of 9 weeks. Image

Leave a Reply

